Is that chocolate or poo?

It was a scene from the movies. Of course you’ve all seen the classic “Baby Mama” featuring Tina Fey and Amy Poehler, right? If not, stay tuned to TBS where it will replay about once or twice a week. In this hilarious film, Tina Fey’s character really wants a baby and Amy’s character becomes her surrogate. In an opening scene, Tina Fey visits her family where her sister grabs her son’s hand that is smeared with brown…something. “Is this chocolate or poo?” She asked of the little boy who smiles mischievously and gives no response. “Chocolate or poo?” the mother asks more demanding now. Still with no answer the mom licks the little boy’s hand and smiles and loving says, “It’s chocolate”. Disgusted, Tina Fey’s character responds, “What if that had been poo?!” The sister replies, “I told ya, messy. But it’s great.”

Ah, a lovely story placed in a fictional movie. And then it happened. For real. At my house.

On Christmas morning, after opening all of the presents, the hubs and I went into the kitchen to get our Christmas meal started. A little while later, our little boy, who we thought was content playing with the train table Santa brought, came running into the kitchen saying “Ew, EW!”  “What’s wrong?” I said, with concern, and a slow look down to his hand which was COVERED in brown……something. “Ew, Mommy!” my 2-year-old exclaimed. “Is that chocolate or poo?” I asked. My little boy smiled and gave me no response. “Chocolate or poo?” I asked, a little more demanding now. Luckily I could smell it before I made the mistake of licking it. It was poo. Smeared all over his hand.

Unlike the movie, our scene was resolved in a swift haul up stairs and immediate diaper change and a talk about how we don’t dig in our diapers if they are full of poo.

But just like the movie, after a new diaper was in place I smiled lovingly at my child. Because the sentiment is true to the life of a mommy. “Its messy. But it’s great.”

I couldn’t agree more. Next time I just hope there’s more chocolate involved.

Welcome to my world!

Tell me your thoughts!

