My Scale Is An Asshole

I don’t usually use such vulgar words in my life. But unfortunately, there is no better word to describe my bathroom scale.

My scale is stubborn, brutally honest, and holds an unwavering poor opinion of me and my weight. It is, in short, an asshole.

I am working so hard to improve its opinion of me. I am eating better. I am working out 3 days a week, an hour at a time. I am constantly chasing a toddler. And yet, when I go to my scale for validation, it unsympathetically gleams back a mean number. It is not apologetic and harshly blunt in its delivery.

I know that a relationship requires the effort of both parties, and I am willing to do my share of the work. I am aware that changes in interaction take time and I will do my best to be patient.

I wish my scale would be like those you see on the Special K commercials, and instead of giving me a number, a show me a word of encouragement. For example, “strong”, “beautiful”, or “you-are-a-great-mommy-and-you-are-super-sexy-and-I’m-proud-of-you-for-making-healthy-life-changes.”

Is this asking too much?

Perhaps.

Even though the dates I have with my scale often leave me feeling defeated, I still continue to go back and strive for its validation. One day, it might change its opinion of me and show me a nice little number. One day, I might change my opinion of my scale. I am looking forward to a good relationship, but it looks like this is going to be a long road.

5 thoughts on “My Scale Is An Asshole

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Shred: Day One | Elated Exhaustion

  2. Since my scale broke (no, it wasn’t me stepping on it that did it) I’ve felt free from – no, I miss it, even though mine was an asshole too. Now I use the Wii. Double asshole.

    I’m a new follower from twitter! Looking forward to following!

  3. Love this! I feel the same way about my scale most days — and I’ll admit, I’ve taken a break from it and exercise for the last 3 weeks. My body is starting to hate me, but I get so frustrated with trying SO hard and seeing no results!

    Lovely blog, by the way. I found you on BlogHer — I’m trying to figure out how it works. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your supportive comment! It means so much to me! I am so glad that you found me through BlogHer. I am just figuring out how all of this works too, so maybe we can figure it out together. So nice to meet you! ~Julia

Tell me your thoughts!

