A Small Milestone

My two-and-a-half year old this morning before school. Happy half birthday sweet boy.

My little boy is 30 months old today. Officially two-and-a-half. I do not know why, but this feels like a milestone. Just another solid step towards him growing up. Just another reminder of how he’s leaving the baby world and entering the child world.

Maybe it’s a milestone because it’s the first “half birthday.” Whenever I was asked his age, for the longest time, I would respond in terms of months. I never referred to him as “one and a half,” I always said 18 months. I used months right up until that 24th one, when I reluctantly switched my answer to “He’s two.”

And for the past six months he has been two. And he’s been throwing tantrums and potty training and learning and growing and he’s been two. But now he is two-and-a-half. And he’s doing better about the tantrums (most days) and he is already done potty training. And he’s still learning and growing but he’s so SMART and observant now. And he’s only two-and-a-half.

Maybe it’s a milestone because I still remember the words of advice from a mom on a playdate we had when he was just a baby; “Make sure to get pictures when he’s two-and-a-half. It will be the last time you will get a baby picture. By the time they are three, they have already turned into little boys.” We have a photography session scheduled for April.

Maybe it’s a milestone because every step in his life is also a step in mine. Now, not only is he two-and-a-half, but I am the mother of a two-and-half year old. I can see this doesn’t bode well for my emotional sanity as he continues to grow up.

Maybe it’s a milestone simply because it is a milestone. Not the most significant one, but one all the same. And milestones are important to notice. Even the small ones.

4 thoughts on “A Small Milestone

  1. what a cutie 🙂 The baby stage is so hard to get over, isn’t it? Forget months, for so long, I used to keep track of Jack’s age in terms of WEEKS (“he’s 37 weeks”, “he’s 42 weeks”…people thought I was nuts). Good idea about the photo shoot, you’ll want to preserve every last drop of his “baby” years 🙂

    • Awww, thank you! I totally understand. Switching how we count time is such a hard transition when you want them to stay little forever. I’ll be sure to post some of these pics we get in April!

  2. They absolutely are…no matter how big or small they sure are a milestone.
    It sucks that they grow so fast.
    Just remember that no matter how old they get, they will always be your baby 😉

Tell me your thoughts!

